Standards for Enterprise 

S4E Stimulates Business Standards Discussion/Classification

13 Nov 2014 7:07 PM | Bill Hakanson

14 November 2014 – Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA – S4E’s Standards Navigator™ may be industry’s first effort to categorize the plethora of standards now being used by forward thinking business executives.

This “standardizing the standards” initiative invites comments and challenges from S4E members. 

According to Scott Palmer, S4E’s Director and Founder, “We’ve begun to classify business standards into five basic categories including:

1.        Enterprise/Business Architecture Frameworks (organizational design)
These are enterprise architectures or frameworks that can be used for business and IT organizational design. S4E likes to think of EBA's as the skeletal infrastructure for the business.  

2.      Business Process Reference Models / Frameworks (E2E building blocks)
Reference models provide a single taxonomy from which semantic congruity evolves. BPM followers can use these as end-to-end building blocks for a multitude of process and / or activity flows. Think of these as the ligaments in support of the skeleton.  

3.      Modeling / Application Standards (modeling syntaxes / languages)
Tool providers resort to standard modeling syntax / languages in order to provide consistency across applications. Most of these are widely known and accepted standards. They are the tendons holding the information protocols to the framework. 
4.      Information Standards “Machine/IT Protocols” (registry / repository)
There are messaging service protocols for the data interchange at the hardware device level and protocols for data interchange at the application program level. These are akin to the muscle infrastructure in our analogy. They provide strength and coordination within the company and between businesses. 
5.      Data Standards “Data Transfer Information” (ID, security, SOA, Cloud)
Generally, these are standardized frameworks that link business with IT at granular levels. Data structures and control objectives are akin to the skin & nerves of the enterprise. 

“The standards S4E is currently highlighting include:

  • ArchiMate
  • Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMN)
  • Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology (COBIT)
  • Enhanced Telecom Operationsl Map (eTOM)
  • Interactive Financial Exchange (IFX)
  • Process Classification Framework (PCF)
  • Supply Chain Operations Reference-model (SCOR)
  • The Open Group Architecture Framework (ToGAF)
  • Universal Description, Discovery and Integration (UDDI)
  • XML Process Definition Language (XPDL)
  • Extensible Markup Language (XML)

Soon to be posted:

  • Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)

“By embracing multiple standards and standards setting organizations, S4E brings together a variety of interests and views in its quest to deliver value to business and enterprise architects and other industry executives – we invite and appreciate all input,” continued Palmer.

What S4E offers is a gathering of web links, information, and dialog on business standards including the name of the developing organization, version and year released, source, cost, implementation support available, case studies, listing of pertinent educational events, and links to the pertinent social media pages.

S4E offers benchmarking on standards implementation among users, use case articles, and forum discussions to help illuminate S4E subscribers. In addition, S4E connects members to knowledge experts to exchange ideas with standards adopters for additional, basic support.

To learn more about what we are offering S4E, contact me at billhak@standards4enterprise.comtoday.

Address: 4001 Tall Timber, Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA, 15101

Phone: +1 (412) 487-2922

Email:  Site Map

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management